Only to Sleep

Product Form: Paperback / softback
In Stock | Ships Tomorrow


Author(s): Osborne, Lawrence

The year is 1988. The place, Baja California. Private Investigator Philip Marlowe - now in his seventy-second year - has been living out his retirement in the terrace bar of La Fonda hotel. Sipping margaritas, playing cards, his silver-tipped cane at the ready. When in saunter two men dressed like undertakers. With a case that has his name written all over it.

At last Marlowe is back where he belongs. His mission is to investigate Donald Zinn - supposedly drowned off his yacht, leaving a much younger and now very rich wife. Marlowe's speciality. But is Zinn actually alive? Are the pair living off the spoils?

Set between the border and badlands of Mexico and California, Lawrence Osborne's resurrection of the iconic Marlowe is an unforgettable addition to the Raymond Chandler canon.

Discover the rest of the inimitable Philip Marlowe series - nine classic Chandler adventures, from The Big Sleep to The Long Goodbye, available now in paperback and ebook from Penguin Books.

About the author:

Lawrence Osborne was born in England but has travelled and lived all over the world. He is the author of the critically acclaimed novels The Forgiven, The Ballad of a Small Player, Hunters in the Dark and Beautiful Animals. In 2017, he joined John Banville in being asked by the Raymond Chandler Estate to write a new Philip Marlowe novel, Only to Sleep, which also draws on his time living and working as a reporter on the Mexican border in 1990. His non-fiction includes travelogues and essay collections as well as the drinking odyssey The Wet and the Dry. He currently lives in Bangkok.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781781090589

Audience: General/trade

Language: English

Number of Pages: 288

Publication Date: 20180917


Product Form: Paperback / softback

Dimensions (LxWxH): 213 mm135 mm20 mm 

Weight: 296 gr


Customer Reviews

No reviews yet

Trustpilot Rating

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed