City of Lies


Product Form: Paperback / softback
Price:
$19.99
Stock:
In Stock | Ships Tomorrow

Description

Author(s): Hawke, Sam

THE ACCLAIMED, AWARD-WINNING DEBUT FANTASY

'A compelling fantasy whodunit - imagine Agatha Christie channelled through Robin Hobb - and a page-turning coming-of-age tale' Guardian
________

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me . . .


Only a handful of people in Silasta know Jovan's real purpose in life. To most, he is just another son of the ruling class. The quiet, forgettable friend of the Chancellor's charming, irresponsible heir. In reality, Jovan has been trained for most of his life to detect, concoct and withstand poisons in order to protect the ruling family.

His sister Kalina is too frail to share in their secret family duty. While other women of the city hold positions of power and responsibility, her path is full of secrets and lies - some hidden even from her own brother.

Until now, peace has reigned in Silasta for hundreds of years. But when the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army storms the gates, the so-called Bright City is completely unprepared. It falls to Jovan and Kalina to protect the heir and save their homeland - but first they must make their way through a new world of unexpected treachery, a world where the ancient spirits are rising . . . and angry.

This fabulous epic fantasy debut will appeal to readers of Joe Abercrombie and Terry Brooks, Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence and all points in between.

About the author:

A lawyer by training and the holder of a black belt in jujitsu, SAM HAWKE lives in Canberra. Her first novel was the acclaimed and multi-award-winning City of Lies. The 'Poison War' duology will conclude with Hollow Empire.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780552176293

Audience: General/trade

Language: English

Number of Pages: 608

Publication Date: 20190702

Publisher: RANDOM HOUSE UK

Product Form: Paperback / softback

Dimensions (LxWxH): 197 mm128 mm38 mm 

Weight: 434 gr

 

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Trustpilot Rating

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed