Booker Prize Shortlist 2021

Here is the complete list of novels nominated for this year's Man Booker Prize. The list has been cut-down from the 13 novels announced in July. 

 

Our early front runner is Bewilderment by the 2018 Man Booker Winner Richard Powers. Anyone who read Overstory knows Richard Power's ability to tell a story.

 

The winner will be announced on 3 November.

 

1. A Passage North by Anuk Arudpragasam

'A Passage North is written with scrupulous attention to nuance and detail. Its world is the deeply-layered, rich interior of its protagonist's mind but also contemporary Sri Lanka itself, war-scarred, traumatized. At its center is an exquisite form of noticing, a way of rendering consciousness and handling time that connects Arudpragasam to the great novelists of the past' - Colm Toibin, New York Times bestselling author of Brooklyn and The Testament of Mary.

 

2. The Promise by Damon Galgut

A taut and menacing novel that charts the crash and burn of an Afrikaans family, the Swarts. Punctuated by funerals that bring the ever-diminishing family together, each of the four parts opens with a death and a new decade.

 

3. No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood

Irreverent and sincere, poignant and delightfully profane, No One Is Talking About This is a meditation on love, language and human connection from one of the most original voices of our time.

 

4. The Fortune Men by Nadifa Mohamed

Mahmood Mattan is a fixture in Cardiff's Tiger Bay, 1952, which bustles with Somali and West Indian sailors, Maltese businessmen and Jewish families. He is a father, chancer, petty criminal. He is a smooth-talker with rakish charm and an eye for a good game. He is many things, but he is not a murderer. It is only in the run-up to the trial, as the prospect of returning home dwindles, that it will dawn on Mahmood that he is in a fight for his life - against conspiracy, prejudice and cruelty - and that the truth may not be enough to save him.

 

5. Bewilderment by Richard Powers

What can a father do, when the only solution offered to his rare and troubled boy is to put him on psychoactive drugs? What can he say when his boy comes to him wanting an explanation for a world that is clearly in love with its own destruction? The only thing for it is to take the boy to other planets, while all the while fostering his son's desperate campaign to help save this one.

 

6. Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead

This monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator, and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen. Perfect for fans of THE GOLDFINCH by Donna Tartt, and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE.

 

To read more about these novels go to the Booker Website.



Related Posts

BooklistBooks

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published

Judge.me Verified Reviews Badge
121
Verified Reviews